Astrology for Beginners: How to Read a Birth Chart

I'm so excited to talk about ASTROLOGY for beginners. Let's learn to understand astrology on a deeper level and how to read a birth chart!

There's more to astrology than just your zodiac sign… welcome to the art of reading and interpreting celestial bodies 🌝. Astrology for beginners can be intimidating, but I hope you find something fascinating and discover more about yourself and your loved ones with this video.

Comment below with your primal triad!! I'm a libra sun, sagittarius moon, gemini rising 😸

The Astrological Signs

♈️ Aries (Ram)

  • Element: Fire
  • Mode: Cardinal
  • Archetypes: The Warrior, The Pioneer, The Daredevil, The Survivor
  • Keywords: courage, will, fighter, fierce, dynamic, quick, competitive

♉︎ Taurus (Bull)

  • Element: Earth
  • Mode: Fixed
  • Archetypes: The Earth Spirit, The Musician, The Silent One
  • Keywords: serenity, nature, silence, music, dependable, sensual, creative

♊︎ Gemini (Twins)

  • Element: Air
  • Mode: Mutable
  • Archetypes: The Witness, The Teacher, The Storyteller, The Journalist
  • Keywords: observer, communication, curiosity, wonder, intelligence, expressive

♋︎ Cancer (Crab)

  • Element: Water
  • Mode: Cardinal
  • Archetypes: The Mother, The Healer, The Invisible Man/Woman
  • Keywords: inward, feelings, nurturing, imaginative, kind, compassionate, protective

♌︎ Leo (Lion)

  • Element: Fire
  • Mode: Fixed
  • Archetypes: The King/Queen, The Performer, The Child, The Clown
  • Keywords: personality, performer, dramatic, charismatic, outgoing, prideful

♍︎ Virgo (Virgin)

  • Element: Earth
  • Mode: Mutable
  • Archetypes: The Servant, The Martyr, The Perfectionist, The Analyst
  • Keywords: purity, perfection, service, detailed, practical, loyal, analytical

♎︎ Libra (Scales)

  • Element: Air
  • Mode: Cardinal
  • Archetypes: The Lover, The Artist, The Peacemaker
  • Keywords: peace, harmony, balance, beauty, paradox, calm, diplomatic, gracious

♏︎ Scorpio (Scorpion)

  • Element: Water
  • Mode: Fixed
  • Archetypes: The Detective, The Sorcerer, The Hypnotist
  • Keywords: intensity, deep feeler, introspective, passionate, stubborn, resourceful

♐︎ Sagittarius (Archer)

  • Element: Fire
  • Mode: Mutable
  • Archetypes: The Gypsy, The Student, The Philosopher
  • Keywords: adventurous, seeks novelty & the foreign, optimistic, funny, generous, open-hearted

♑︎ Capricorn (Sea Goat)

  • Element: Earth
  • Mode: Cardinal
  • Archetypes: The Hermit, The Father, The Prime Minister
  • Keywords: worldly power, integrity, climber, patient, practical, disciplined, serious, independent

♒︎ Aquarius (Water-Bearer)

  • Element: Air
  • Mode: Fixed
  • Archetypes: The Genius, The Revolutionary, The Truth Sayer, The Scientist, The Exile
  • Keywords: freedom, individuality, truth, original, imaginative, uncompromising

♓︎ Pisces (Fishes)

  • Element: Water
  • Mode: Mutable
  • Archetypes: The Mystic, The Dreamer, The Poet, The Face Dancer
  • Keywords: consciousness, awareness, empathy, inner world, gentle, wise, artistic

The Planets

Sun (☉) – ego, core self, center of personality, self image, life force, personal power

Moon (☽) – feelings, emotion, sensitivity, mood, heart, subjectivity, soul

Mercury (☿) – intelligence, mind, thinking, logic, transmission of information (talking, teaching writing), reception of information (listening, learning, reading, observing)

Venus (♀︎) – beauty, harmony, creativity, love, relationships, equilibrium

Mars (♂︎) – will, aggression, assertiveness, freedom, independence, self-determination, enthusiasm

Jupiter (♃) – faith, vitality, confidence, expansiveness, generosity, cheerfulness, resilience of spirit

Saturn (♄) – self-discipline, self-respect, faith in one's destiny, peace with solitude

Uranus (♅) – individuality, capacity to authority, transcendence of cultural/social programming

Neptune (♆) – consciousness, spirit, soul, separation from ego/identity, sensitive/vulnerable area

Pluto (♇) – realization of one's destiny, truth seeking, desire to change the world, dreams, vision, conquest, transformation, a sense of purpose

The Houses

1: House of Personality (Ascendant) – personal identity, social identity, appearance, mask

2: House of Money – self esteem, money, possessions, self-respect, values

3: House of Communication – information gathering/sharing, mental activity, learning, communication

4: House of Home – home life, roots, inner security, unconscious & emotional underpinnings of personality

5: House of Children – pleasure, playfulness, creative self-expression, romance

6: House of Servants – responsibilities, skill & competence, devotion & self-sacrifice, service, self-improvement

7: House of Marriage – intimate relationships, marriage, partnerships, identification with others

8: House of Death – instinctive behavior, sexual desire/instinct, awareness of death/mortality, life after death

9: House of Journeys & Travel – confrontation of routine life, philosophy, ethics, personal world view, travel

10: House of Career – career, reputation, position in society, destiny

11: House of Friends – the future, plans, goals, friends, groups, movements, aspirations

12: House of Troubles – consciousness, death of ego, events & experiences that disrupt our identity

source: Pinterest / GoldRing Astrology

Birth Chart Resources

Learn more about astrological concepts

Fun fact: Carl Jung (Swiss psychiatrist and psychoanalyst who founded analytical psychology) was an astrologer. Astrology + psychology are connected.

How much do you really know about yourself?

Discover more about yourself and what you want out of life with this free downloadable list of 30 self reflection journaling prompts.

Lavendaire Weekly Planner 11
weekly reset planner
Featured Posts